The Regulars by Georgia Clark -- Review

Thursday, July 28, 2016

Title: The Regulars
Author: Georgia Clark
Pages: 400
ISBN: 1501119591
Published: August 2nd 2016 by Atria/Emily Bestler Books

Summary:

A fierce, feisty, and “wonderfully entertaining” (Scott Westerfeld, author of Uglies) debut with a magical twist about three ordinary, regular girls who suddenly have their fantasies come true…or do they?

Best friends Evie, Krista, and Willow are just trying to make it through their mid-twenties in New York. They’re regular girls, with average looks and typical quarter-life crises: making it up the corporate ladder, making sense of online dating, and making rent.

Until they come across Pretty, a magic tincture that makes them, well...gorgeous. Like, supermodel gorgeous. And it’s certainly not their fault if the sudden gift of beauty causes unexpected doors to open for them.

But there’s a dark side to Pretty, too, and as the gloss fades for these modern-day Cinderellas, there’s just one question left:

What would you sacrifice to be Pretty?

Wildly irreverent, blatantly sexy, and observed with pitch-perfect wit, The Regulars is fresh “compulsive reading from a bright new voice” (Brenda Bowen, author of Enchanted August) in fiction, perfect for fans of Jennifer Close and Kevin Kwan.

Review:


This book was hilarious, cringeworthy, and unbelievable at times. I really enjoyed reading it and trying to imagine what I would do in their situations. Not only does the "pretty" make the girls gorgeous, it makes them unrecognizable. This makes the story even more interesting because they can't just go back to living their normal lives after taking the "pretty". 

I believe the author was trying to discuss and explore the idea that society has become obsessed with beauty and body image, but I'm not sure th novel hit the nail on the head. I felt like the book actually made me feel a little bit of the opposite. It made it seem like good things only happen to the gorgeous supermodels of the world. 

At the beginning of the story, I really loved the book. There were hilarious one liners, the girls were funny, and they seemed to all have entertaining personalities. After they took the "pretty", their characters were a little crazy and I was cringing during a solid 100 pages. Things got a little raunchy and ridiculous. It seemed as though the author was attempting to show that the characters could get over their insecurities and learn a lesson from the "pretty", but I don't think they learned a whole lot. The book got stretched out a good bit and then the ending was just a little blah. 

 All in all, it was a funny book that took it a little to far in certain areas. Certain parts of the story made me want to give it a 4 star rating and other parts made me want to give it a 1. 
I would suggest this book to my college friends, but I think I would be mortified if I saw my mother reading it! I honestly think the author had the chance to make the point of "looks aren't everything" a little stronger and more empowering, but it fell flat. Check it out if you want a silly, raunchy read! 


*ARC provided by Atria and NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.*


Rating 3/5


0 comments:

Post a Comment

 
(© copyright 2015)