The Young Wives Club by Julie Pennell -- Review

Tuesday, January 31, 2017


Title: The Young Wives Club
Author: Julie Pennell
Pages: 320
Publishing: February 14th 2017 by Atria/Emily Bestler Books
ISBN: 1501136461

Summary:

In Toulouse, Louisiana finding your one true love happens sometime around high school. If you’re lucky, he might be the man you thought he was. But as four friends are about to find out, not every girl has luck on her side in this charming debut novel perfect for fans of The Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood and Desperate Housewives. 

Laura Landry’s quarterback husband was her ticket out of Toulouse. But when a devastating football injury sidelines him, they’re forced to move back to the small town she was so desperate to leave. As Brian starts drinking instead of rehabbing his knee, Laura must reevaluate what her future looks like…and if it includes her husband.

For years, Madison Blanchette has been waiting for bad-boy musician Cash Romero to commit to her. When wealthy George Dubois asks her out, she figures she may as well wait in style. Life with George means weekend trips to New Orleans, gourmet meals, and expensive gifts. At first she loves how George’s affection sparks Cash’s jealousy, but when George proposes to Madison, she finds herself torn between two men…

All Claire Thibodeaux wants is to be the perfect wife and mother. If she can do everything right she won’t end up like her mom, a divorced, single parent trying to make ends meet. But when Claire’s husband Gavin, a well-respected local pastor, starts spending late nights at work and less time in their bed, she can’t help but fear that history is about to repeat itself…

Gabrielle Vaughn never thought she’d end up with someone like her fiancĂ©. The son of a prominent congressman, Tony Ford is completely out of her league—which is why she lied to him about everything from having a college degree to the dark truth about her family. She knows she has to come clean, but how do you tell the love of your life that your entire relationship is a lie?

As these young wives come together to help each other through life, love, and heartbreak, they discover that there are no easy answers when it comes to matters of the heart.

Review: 


The Young Wives Club is a charming and entertaining novel that I couldn't put down. It was a fun and easy read, and I loved how it followed many characters throughout the story instead of just one main character. The leading ladies not only held my attention, but they kept me from paying attention to anything else! This is definitely a read in one sitting kind of book. so be prepared to ignore everything you're supposed to do for the next 12 hours if you decide to pick it up. Don't say I didn't warn you. 

The novel follows four young ladies and shows the joys and struggles that each of them face in their relationships. They are a close knit group of friends, and their recent circumstances bring them even closer together. Although I don't have a lot in common with the main characters, I still found myself relating and understanding the events that were happening in each of their lives. I especially loved the ending of the novel. No spoilers, but it was nice to see an ending to the story that wasn't all rainbows and butterflies. The characters had to face real life situations, handle them as adults, and deal with the outcome. It was refreshing to see a story end like it would in the real world! 

The Young Wives Club is enjoyable from start to finish and I would highly recommend it to lovers of Sophie Kinsella and books similar to The Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and look forward to hearing what you all think! Look for The Young Wives Club hitting shelves (and the internet) near you on February 14th! 

Rating 4/5

0 comments:

Post a Comment

 
(© copyright 2015)