Purple Hearts by Tess Wakefield -- Review

Sunday, April 23, 2017


Title: Purple Hearts 
Author: Tess Wakefield 
Pages: 320 
Publishing: April 25th 2017 by Atria/Emily Bestler Books/Alloy 
ISBN: 1501136496

Synopsis: 

When a soldier with a troubled past and a struggling songwriter agree to a marriage of convenience for the military benefits, neither expects much after saying “I do.” Then tragedy strikes, and the line between what’s real and what’s pretend begins to blur in this smart and surprising romance.

Cassie Salazar and Luke Morrow couldn’t be more different. Sharp-witted Cassie works nights at a bar in Austin, Texas to make ends meet while pursuing her dream of becoming a singer/songwriter. Luke is an Army trainee, about to ship out for duty, who finds comfort in the unswerving discipline of service. But a chance encounter at Cassie’s bar changes the course of both their lives

Cassie is drowning in medical bills after being diagnosed with diabetes. When she runs into her old friend Frankie, now enlisted in the Army, she proposes a deal: she’ll marry him in exchange for better medical insurance and they can split the increased paycheck that comes with having a “family.” When Frankie declines, his attractive but frustratingly intense friend Luke volunteers to marry Cassie instead. What she doesn’t know is that he has desperate reasons of his own to get married. In this unforgettable love story, Cassie and Luke must set aside their differences to make it look like a real marriage...unless, somewhere along the way, it becomes one...
 


Review: 

I'm slightly conflicted about my review of Purple Hearts. I really enjoyed it, but I wanted so much more from the characters. The storyline felt like a Nicholas Sparks classic, but it lacked the chemistry and romance that I was craving. The characters were fun and interesting, but I wanted them to connect more and show more emotion. 

The writing style was fast paced and light hearted, and I found myself reading through the novel very quickly. I loved how easily the novel flowed from one page to the next, but when I had about 20 pages left in the book I started to panic a little because it seemed like so much more needed to happen. As much as I enjoyed the first portion of the book, the last bit seemed rushed and cut short. 

Purple Hearts is a fun, fast paced book filled with relatable characters and real life issues. I found myself constantly wondering what I would do if put in the situations that the main characters faced. I laughed and I cried (just a little!), and I found myself not wanting this novel to end. I would definitely recommend this novel to readers who enjoy Nicholas Sparks, JoJo Moyes and other contemporary romance novels. 

Rating 3.5/5

*Thank you Atria and NetGalley for providing me with a copy of the ebook in exchange for an honest review. 

0 comments:

Post a Comment

 
(© copyright 2015)