I Found You by Lisa Jewell -- Review

Monday, April 24, 2017


Title: I Found You
Author: Lisa Jewell
Pages: 352
Publishing: April 25th 2017 by Atria Books
ISBN: 1501154591

Synopsis:

A young bride, a lonely single mother, and an amnesiac man of dubious origin lie at the heart of New York Times bestselling author Lisa Jewell’s next suspenseful drama that will appeal to fans of Liane Moriarty and Paula Hawkins.

In a windswept British seaside town, single mom Alice Lake finds a man sitting on the beach outside her house. He has no name, no jacket, and no idea how he got there. Against her better judgment, she invites him inside.

Meanwhile, in a suburb of London, twenty-one-year-old Lily Monrose has only been married for three weeks. When her new husband fails to come home from work one night she is left stranded in a new country where she knows no one. Then the police tell her that her husband never existed.

Twenty-three years earlier, Gray and Kirsty are teenagers on a summer holiday with their parents. Their annual trip to the quaint seaside town is passing by uneventfully, until an enigmatic young man starts paying extra attention to Kirsty. Something about him makes Gray uncomfortable—and it’s not just that he’s playing the role of protective older brother.

Two decades of secrets, a missing husband, and a man with no memory are at the heart of this brilliant new novel, filled with the “beautiful writing, believable characters, pacey narrative, and dark secrets” (London Daily Mail) that make Lisa Jewell so beloved by audiences on both sides of the Atlantic.

Review: 

I Found You has been sitting on my shelf for a while now and I'm so glad I finally had the opportunity to read it. The novel is incredibly suspenseful and it held my emotions captive from start to finish. The complex characters were intriguing and the mystery surrounding the story of Gray and Kristy had my attention from the first few pages until the very end. 

I loved how the story jumped back and forth between between present day and the past as well as how it mixed many different characters and their stories. Jewell had several storylines going on at once and she never allowed the reader to have enough information to really figure out who was who and how they all connected. Just when I thought I had a character figured out, Jewell would jump to a different storyline and leave me hanging. She had me craving more information at every flip of the page.

I loved Jewell's writing style and thoroughly enjoyed the pace of the story and the characters. I Found You is a suspenseful and epic rollercoaster of emotions and I loved every second of it. I would highly recommend this novel to readers who enjoyed The Girl on the Train. Thank you Atria for sending me a copy of this novel! 

Rating 4/5 

0 comments:

Post a Comment

 
(© copyright 2015)